• SRHC Home


    by Published on July 16th, 2015 05:37 AM

    2016 SRHC Meeting in Orlando, Florida

    The 2016 conference of the Southern Regional Honors Council will be held March 31st-April 2nd at the DoubleTree by Hilton, at the Entrance to Universal Orlando. 5780 Major Boulevard, Orlando, FL 32819. Proposal Deadline is February 1, 2016.

    Room Rates:
    Single/Double $121
    Triple/Quad $130

    Link to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel for SRHC Conference reservations

    Or call DoubleTree Orlando at 800-222-8733

    Early Registration Rates:
    $150 students/$175 faculty (SRHC institutional members)
    $175 students/$200 faculty (non-member institutions)

    Contact 2016 conference chair Jennifer Vallin for further details.

    Sanctuary Literary Journal

    Venture over to the Sanctuary Literary Magazine, the Official Journal of the Southern Regional Honors Council. The online home for Sanctuary is located HERE. All students and faculty from honors programs that are current members of the Southern Regional Honors Council are eligible to submit work. This includes current students and alumni, current and former honors faculty, and any students who have participated in an honors course. Submissions must be original works that have not been previously published.

    Membership in the SRHC

    The mission of the Southern Regional Honors Council is to promote and advance the Honors Programs and Honors Colleges in the South. The SRHC currently comprises 105 member institutions.

    Our main objective is to organize an annual conference. The annual conference permits the dissemination of honors student research and creative work and sharing of administrative and faculty best practices. We also offer a number of SRHC grants, which provide monetary support for scholarship and leadership to member individuals and institutions. Support is offered to students participating in National Collegiate Honors Council-sponsored experiential programs, such as Partners in the Parks, NCHC Semesters, and NCHC Winterims, as well as for other research, programs, and projects in member institutions.

    We welcome new institutional and individual members to the SRHC. Membership details are available on THIS PAGE. Members who must pay by check should send them to:

    Philip L. Frana, Ph.D.
    SRHC Executive Secretary-Treasurer
    MSC 1501, 251 Warren Service Drive
    James Madison University
    Harrisonburg, VA 22807