

General Business Meeting
Southern Regional Honors Council
Westin Charlotte -Charlotte, NC
SRHC Annual Conference
March 31, 2023

#### **AGENDA**

### **Call to Order**

President Aaron Hanlin (Florida State College at Jacksonville) called the meeting to order at 12:31PM FDT.

### **Appointment of Parliamentarian**

Aaron appointed Tom Jones (Gardner-Webb) as parliamentarian. No objections.

#### Welcome and Introductions

Aaron read UNCC's expanded indigenous people acknowledgement.

Aaron introduced the board – Past-Past President Rusty Rushton (University of Alabama Birmingham), Past-President Kathy Cooke (University of South Alabama, not present), Vice President Maria Vandergriff-Avery (Catawba College), Student VP Taylor King (North Carolina A&T), Secretary Jon Blandford (Bellarmine University), Treasurer David Coleman (Eastern Kentucky University), Faculty /Staff At Heather Waldroup (Appalachian State University), Faculty Staff At-Large Victoria Bryan (University of Tennessee Chattanooga), Karen Keaton Jackson (North Carolina Central University), Student At-Large Madison Cothern (University of Tennessee Chattanooga), Student At-Large Emma Nantz (Catawba College), Student At-Large Jared Reeder (Gardner Webb University).

Aaron provided instructions to everyone on how to get election cards. Enthusiastically thanked organizing committee for years of planning.

# **Approval of Agenda**

Aaron called for the approval of the meeting agenda, uploaded to the Grenadine app with the conference schedule. *David so moved. Malin seconded. Motion unanimously approved.* 

# **Approval of Minutes**

Aaron called for the approval of the minutes from the general business meeting at NCHC last fall and SRHC 2022 minutes from Birmingham last spring. *Maria so moved. Norris seconded. Motion unanimously approved.* 

## **Treasurer's Report**

David directed people to reference the paper copy of report on tables.

Current balance is \$138,000 (+ \$50,000 in CD with PNC bank). Assets are in good shape. Likely will have a little over \$100,000 at the end of this fiscal year after remaining conference expenses are paid. About where we were before we lost money at conferences in 2018 and 2019.

Partners in the Parks stipends - have 12 at \$800 each, but have had only 3 takers so far. Talked about where this year's PITP programs are taking place.

Aaron asked for a motion to approve treasurer's report. Angela Williams (Miles College) so moved. Mike Sloane (UAB) seconded. Motion approved.

### **2023 Conference Chair Report**

Conference co-chair Denise Lynch (UNCC) thanked everyone for coming to the conference, which was the culmination of five years of planning and significantly disrupted by the pandemic. Recognition of host institutions – Catawba (Maria, Norris Feeney); UNCC (Malin Perrera, Denise, Shannon Zurrell-Carey)

Taylor reminded attendees about student event.

Norris thanked all the student volunteers who helped out with registration and moderated panel, Denise, the hotel A/V people, and to all conference attendees for being willing to roll with the changes.

Aaron called for a motion to accept conference chair report. Kelsey Dorsett (NC A&T) so moved. Andrew Palmer (Citadel) seconded. Motion approved.

## **2024 Conference Report**

Aaron gave an update on next year's conference, which is being co-planned by his institution, UNF, and Flagler College. Room rate \$169 a night. Save the date cards on each table.

# 2025 Conference

Update from Linda Frost (UT Chattanooga). Room rate also \$169. Will be at Marriott, with reception at Aquarium.

## **New Business**

## **Elections**

Jon explained the process for voting. Called each nominee up to give a brief (1-2 minute) statement. Voting to take place electronically, with one ballot per member institution that has paid dues and one ballot pre individual membership.

Nominees read statements from the stage.

Faculty-Staff

No nominees from the floor.

One nominee for Faculty-Staff VP – Lynn Stallings (University of Auburn at Montgomery)

One nominee for Treasurer – Deirdre Ragan (The Citadel)

One nominee for Secretary –Brian Newsome (Georgia Southern)

One nominee for Faculty Staff At-Large—Marlee Marsh (Columbia College)

Students

David called for nominees from the floor for student VP.

No nominees.

Madison Mintz (Gardner Webb) moved that nominations from the floor for Student VP be closed. David Coleman seconded. Approved.

Maria called for nominees from the floor for Student At-Large

Emma Rayfield (Gardner-Webb) nominated by Wilson Hawkins (Gardner-Webb).

Rebekah Vaughn (Gardner Webb) moved that nominees for student at-large be closed. Chase McKenney (Gardner Webb) seconded. Approved.

List of all nominees (except) student nominated from the floor) is here.

Gave attendees ten minutes to vote. Dues increase passed. Run-off for student at large with tie between three candidates for third position. Results are as follows:

New e-board members:

Lynn Stallings Vice President Auburn University at Montgomery Dora Rice Student Vice President North Carolina A&T University

Brian Newsome Secretary Georgia College & State University

Deirdre Ragan Treasurer The Citadel

New committee members:

Marlee Marsh Faculty/Staff At-Large Columbia College mmarsh@columbiasc.edu

Victoria Bryan
Faculty/Staff At-Large
University of Tennessee at Chattanooga
victoria-bryan@utc.edu

Karen Keaton-Jackson Faculty/Staff At-Large North Carolina Central University kkjackson@nccu.edu

Madison Cothern
Student At-Large
University of Tennessee at Chattanooga
ybv395@mocs.utc.edu

Jzurnee Myers Student At-Large Columbia College jzurnee.myers@my.columbiasc.edu

Kendal Walker Student At-Large University of North Carolina at Greensboro

#### **Announcements**

# Sanctuary

Rusty encouraged everyone to submit to Sanctuary prior to upcoming deadline.

Linda talked briefly about publication opportunities though NCHC, including UReCA for students.

**Recognition of Past-Past President** – Rusty Rushton given a ceremonial gavel. Everyone indicated Rusty's greatness by clapping enthusiastically.

NCHC 2023 – Chicago

Update from David about next national conference.

**Gavel Passes to new President Maria Vandergriff-Avery** 

**Election Results Read from the Stage.** 

**Roll Call** 

North Carolina maximizes home stage advantage, wins.

Aaron calls for meeting to adjourned. Emily Cox seconded. Meeting adjourned at 1:58PM.