Minutes of the SRHC Executive Committee Meeting 1 April 2023, 12:30-1:23 p.m. Charlotte, NC

#### **Present:**

- Executive Committee Members: President Maria Vandergriff-Avery, Past-President Aaron Hanlin, Vice President Lynn Stallings, Student Vice President Dora Rice, Secretary Brian Newsome, Treasurer Deidre Ragan.
- Board Members: Faculty/Staff At-Large Member Marlee Marsh, Faculty/Staff At-Large Member Karen Keaton-Jackson, Student At-Large Member Madison Cothern, Student At-Large Member Jzurnee Myers, Student At-Large Member Kendal Walker.

  Appointed Assistants: Parliamentarian Tom Jones
- Others: Past-Treasurer David Coleman, 2023 conference organizers Denise Lynch and Norris Feeney
- **I. Call to Order:** Maria Vandergriff-Avery called the meeting to order at 12:30 p.m.
- **II. Appointment of Parliamentarian:** Without objection, the Executive Committee appointed Tom Jones as parliamentarian.
- **III. Approval of Agenda:** Aaron Hanlin moved for approval of the agenda. Deirdre Ragan seconded the motion. The Executive Committee approved the motion unanimously.
- **IV. Approval of Minutes:** Karen Keaton-Jackson moved for approval of the minutes of the Executive Committee's previous meeting. Madison Cothern seconded the motion. The Executive Committee approved the motion unanimously.
- **V. Welcome and Introduction of New Board Members:** New members introduced themselves: Vice President Lynn Stallings, Treasurer Deirdre Ragan, Secretary Brian Newsome, Faculty/Staff at Large Member Marlee Marsh, Student Vice President Dora Rice, and Student at Large Members Madison Cothern, Jzurnee Myers, and Kendal Walker.
- **VI. Treasurer's Report:** David Coleman indicated one only update: that Aaron Hanlin will be reimbursed \$78.50 for payment for the web-based election system used during the conference's business meeting.

It was also noted that David Coleman will need to be removed from the Treasury account and Deidre Ragan, and Maria Vandergriff-Avery added. Aaron Hanlin will remain on the Treasury account for the purposes of 2024 conference planning. In addition, Denise Lynch will need to be removed from the Treasury account.

#### VII. 2023 Conference Review:

Denise Lynch indicated that cost at the Charlotte Westin were high but that it was worthwhile because the hotel staff handled the arrangements very well. The conference had 600 registrants

and only a coupe of dozen no shows. The final bill is pending. The cookies at the president's party were disappointing. Lots were left over. Denise will seek to have the hotel lower the bill accordingly.

Norris Feeney recommended that, in future, Honors college/program deans/directors remind students to check their email regularly. Many clearly did not in 2023. This year, av incompatibility was also an issue (absence of the right adapters for presenters' laptops vis-à-vis the projection system). Perhaps paying for a computer in each room would be better. In future, we also need to ensure that there is enough seating in each room.

Dora Rice recommended that students be reminded that they are responsible for printing their posters themselves.

Kendal Walker suggested that moderators be updated about no-shows.

David Coleman thought that having fewer Saturday session was good.

Norris Feeney indicated that registration check-in was seamless.

Denise Lynch indicated that the hotel had asked the Executive Committee to identify an employee for outstanding service. Kendal Walker suggested a bellhop named Roosevelt. Maria Vandergriff-Avery suggested the custodian who managed the restrooms on the second floor. The Executive Committee unanimously agreed to designate Roosevelt.

Aaron Hanlin suggested that a conference planning guide would be a good idea for the future.

Denise Lynch will circulate a conference satisfaction survey to attendees.

Kendal Walker offered to assemble a conference guide for students.

Maria Vandergriff-Avery opened discussion about the Friday evening student event. 120-130 came, but few stayed for long. Several student board members did not "pull their weight" with event planning and execution. Maria recommended that the current student members convey those expectations for next year. Discussion ensued. One idea that emerged for next year was trivia.

# VIII. 2024 Conference Report:

Aaron Hanlin reminded committee members that the conference will be held April 3-6 in Jacksonville, FL. The hotel rooms will cost \$169/night. Conference co-hosts are Florida State College at Jacksonville, the University of North Florida, Jacksonville University, and Flagler College.

Aaron suggested doing a formal welcome to officially open the conference. The committee concurred.

Aaron is planning city-as-text, which may include riverboat tours.

Maria Vandergriff-Avery indicated that we need to keep the energy of the SRHC Instagram going. It was great this year.

Kendal Walker recommended clarifying duties for student board members. The committee concurred.

### **IX. Other Business:**

The committee and board members provided their phone numbers and email addresses:

# **Executive Committee**

Maria Vandergriff-Avery President Catawba College mvanderg@catawba.edu

Aaron Hanlin Past-President Florida State College at Jacksonville aaron.hanlin@fscj.edu

Kathy Cooke Past-Past President University of South Alabama kcooke@southalabama.edu

Lynn Stallings Vice President Auburn University at Montgomery <a href="mailto:lstallin@aum.edu">lstallin@aum.edu</a>

Dora Rice Student Vice President North Carolina A&T University drrice@aggies.ncat.edu

Brian Newsome Secretary Georgia College & Status University brian.newsome@gcsu.edu Deirdre Ragan Treasurer The Citadel dragan@citadel.edu

# **Board Members**

Marlee Marsh Faculty/Staff At-Large Columbia College mmarsh@columbiasc.edu

Victoria Bryan Faculty/Staff At-Large University of Tennessee at Chattanooga victoria-bryan@utc.edu

Karen Keaton-Jackson Faculty/Staff At-Large North Carolina Central University kkjackson@nccu.edu

Madison Cothern Student At-Large University of Tennessee at Chattanooga ybv395@mocs.utc.edu

Jzurnee Myers Student At-Large Columbia College jzurnee.myers@my.columbiasc.edu

Kendal Walker Student At-Large University of North Carolina at Greensboro kcwalker@uncg.edu

# **Appointed Assistants**

Parliamentarian, Dr. Tom Jones Gardner Webb University tjones@gardner-webb.edu; ncwildraisin@gmail.com It was noted that John Glass, of UT Martin, is interested in organizing a consortium for study abroad courses. He could send an email, which the secretary could push out to members.

The committee agreed to gather for a group photo immediately after the conclusion of the meeting.

It was noted that Karen Keeaton-Jackson has done a fantastic job organizing HBCU members of SRHC. The committee concurred that it needs to keep this momentum going through some structural means, beyond Karen's membership on the committee.

Tom Jones recommended that institutions that are near each other collaborate on transportation to the conference by sharing the cost of charter buses.

Aaron Hanlin recommended moving conference registration payments to Stripe, which would require upgrade of the website. Parliamentarian Tom Jones indicated that a vote was not needed to proceed. Aaron and Maria will discuss this issue.

**X. Adjournment:** Aaron Hanlin moved to adjourn the meeting. Kendal Walker seconded the motion. It carried unanimously, and the meeting concluded at 1:23 p.m.

Respectfully submitted by Brian Newsome, SRHC Secretary.

