

# General Business Meeting Southern Regional Honors Council Birmingham – Sheraton Hotel Ballroom Friday, April, 1, 2022 12:37PM-1:55PM (CDT)

# Call to Order

SRHC President Kathy Cooke (University of South Alabama) called the meeting to order at 12:37. She appointed Tom Jones (Gardner-Webb) as Parliamentarian.

### **Welcome and Introduction of Officers**

Kathy welcomed everyone, noting how good it is to see almost 500 people in one room after last year's virtual conference. Noticed that our conference theme on display has been on display throughout presentations so far and the City as Text experience yesterday morning. Shout out to the dancing last night at the president's reception

Kathy introduced the following SRHC officers and executive committee members: Aaron Hanlin (Vice President, Seminole State University); Jon Blandford (Secretary, Bellarmine University); David Coleman (Treasurer, Eastern Kentucky University); Karen Keaton Jackson (Faculty/Staff At-Large, North Carolina Central University); Heather Waldroup (Faculty/Staff At-Large (Appalachian State University); Steven Elliott-Gower (Faculty/ Staff At-Large, Georgia College, *Not Present*); Hayley King (Student Vice President, Morehead State University); Mason Hand (Student At-Large, The Citadel); Patrick Jacobs (Student At-Large, North Carolina Central University); Molly Rovinski (Student At-Large, Bellarmine University)

Kathy acknowledged the work it took to put on in-person conference after two years, and thanked both the original conference committee – Rusty Rushton, Mike Sloane, and Rebecca Freeman from UAB—and VP Aaron Hanlin, who has done much of the planning for this year's conference from afar in Orlando. Kathy thanked the staff at the hotel and especially our primary contact Simon Hill, and also the A/V company (OnCorp Global).

# Approval of Agenda

Kathy called for a motion to approve the agenda after adding an item — an update from our Student VP about a student event planned for that evening. *Wilson Hawkins (Gardner-Webb) so moved. Amanda Velez (Georgia Southern) seconded. Motion approved.* 

# **Approval of Minutes**

Kathy called for approval of the minutes from the fall 2021 SRHC general business meeting at NCHC Orlando, which had been disseminated in advance of the conference via emai by the secretaryl. *David Coleman (EKU) so moved Meredith Rippy (The University of Tennessee at Chattanooga) seconded. Motion approved.* 

# Treasurer's Report

David explained that we are in good financial health, and that our objective is to save up enough money in the SRHC treasury that we could weather the cancellation of an in-person conference.

David announced that we will offer 12 Partners in the Parks stipends at \$800 each, with no more than one per institution..

Deirdre Ragan (Citadel) moved to accept Treasurer's Report. Kaelyn Julmeus (Florida Gulf Coast University) seconded. Motion carried.

# 2022 Conference Report

Conference Chair Aaron Hanlin asked first-time attendees to raise hands, and then explained that he is himself a first-time SRHC attendee. Thanked his crew from Seminole State for their help running the conference, especially Tracy Harbin, Neil Vaz (who gave the City as Text intro and also got the crowd moving last night at the President's Reception), and Diana Riegelsberger (who worked the registration desk). In addition, thanked Mike Sloane from UAB, the SRHC Exec Committee, our sponsors (NCHC, Auburn, Western Georgia, Troy), and attendees for being patient and awesome. Aaron shared that we had 485 registrants, and provided a breakdown of revenue and expenses. \$96.750 in revenue (including sponsorships) and \$75,456.51 in expenses, giving us a net revenue of \$21,000. That were able to generate revenue was largely a function of conservative attendance estimates based on uncertainty of the pandemic, and also being able to negotiate to keep 2020 rates for rooms and food.

Kathryn Fox (University of North Florida) moved to accept Conference Report.. Anna Hall (Georgia Southern) seconded. Motion Carried

# 2023 Conference Report

Denise Lynch (UNCC, 2023 conference co-chair) provided updates in next spring's conference, which will be at the Westin in uptown Charlotte. UNCC will be co-hosting with Catawba College. Distributed a save the date card to all attendees with further details.

# **Elections**

SRHC Secretary Jon Blandford explained elections process.

Fac/staff VP candidates:

Maria Vandergriff-Avery (Catawba College)

Lynn Stallings (University of Auburn-Montgomery)

No nominations from the floor

Motion to close nominations – Hayley King (Morehead State) moved, Rachel Lehkamp (EKU) seconded - approved

Fac/staff at-large rep candidates:

Juan Antonio Alonso (Chattanooga State CC)

Kera Coyer (Valencia)

Brian Newsome (Georgia College and State University)

Deirdre Ragan (The Citadel)

Neil Vaz (Seminole State; nominated from the floor)

Motion to close nominations – Hayley King, (Morehead State) moved, James Allen (Appalachian State) seconded - *approved* 

Student VP candidates:

Mason Hand (The Citadel)

Taylor King (North Carolina A&T)

No nominations from the floor

Motion to close nominations – Cassie Dorsett (NCCU) moved; Rachel Lehkamp (EKU) seconded - approved

At large student rep candidates:

Madison Cothern (UT Chattanooga)

Emma Nantz (Catwaba College)

Jared Reeder (Gardner-Webb),

Avini Shaw (Kennesaw State; nominated from the floor)

Motion to close nominations – Henry Allen (The Citadel) moved, Mary Caroline Hoverkamp (Limestone College) seconded - *approved* 

All candidates present read statements. Lynn Stallings, Maria Vandergriff-Avery, and Kera Coyer could not be present at the meeting, and the secretary read statements they prepared on their behalf.

Ballots were cast and collected.

# **Special Award Presentations: Honorary Lifetime Memberships**

Tom Jones (Gardner-Webb) and John Zubrizarreta (Columbia College) were derseredly recognized for their years of service to SRHC with Honorary Lifetime Memberships. Warm and hearty applause ensued.

# **Announcements and Passing of Gavel to New President**

Rusty Rushton (UAB) talked about *Sanctuary* and encouraged submissions ahead of the upcoming deadline.

Linda Frost (UT Chattanooga) announced they wil be the host city for SRHC in 2024. Conference (Chattanooga in the running)

Christina McIntyre (Virginia Tech) spoke about this year's slate of Partners in the Parks opportunities.

Kathy passed the gavel to new SRHC President Aaron Hanlin.

# **Election Results**

Secretary Blandford announced the election results – Maria Vandergriff Avery (Faculty/Staff VP), Taylor King (Student VP), Madison Cothern (Student At-Large Representative), Emma Nantz (Student At-Large Representative); Jared Reeder (Gardner-Webb)

The Faculty /Staff At-Large did not result in any one candidate receiving the votes, so, per the SRHC Constitution, a run-off was then held between the top two vote-getters, Juan Antonio Alonso and Deirdre Ragan. Juan Antonio received the majority of the votes in the run-off.

# Roll Call

A robust roll call presided over by newly minted President Hanlin resulted in a win for North Carolina.

# **Adjourn**

Aaron Hanlin asked for a motion for adjournment. David Coleman (EKU) so moved. Kathy Cooke (University of South Alabama) seconded. Approved.

Adjourned @ 1:55pm