

General Business Meeting Southern Regional Honors Council Memphis, TN Friday March 29, 2019 12:30-1:30pm Peabody Hotel

Minutes

Meeting called to order at 12:29 by Stacy Eldridge (Northern Virginia Community Coll.), President

Tom Jones (Gardner-Webb University) appointed as Parliamentarian

<u>Approval of agenda</u> Motion to approve agenda - Linda Frost (U. Tennessee-Chattanooga) moved, Mike Sloane (U. Alabama-Birmingham) seconded - approved

Approval of minutes

Minutes from November 9, 2018 Boston General Business meeting of SRHC (held during NCHC) circulated by email - Emily Hoffler, (Catabawa College) moved, Jill Johnson (Christian Brothers U.) seconded - approved

<u>Elections</u> David Coleman (Eastern Kentucky U.) explained election process

Fac/staff VP candidates:
Rusty Rushton, UAB
No nominations from the floor
Motion to close nominations - Patrick Bahls (UNC-Asheville) moved, Kirsten Bartels (Northwestern State U.)
seconded - approved
Stacey called for secretary to cast a single vote for Rusty; elected by acclamation

Fac/staff at-large rep candidates:
Steven Elliott-Gower Georgia College & State University
No nominations from the floor
Motion to close nominations - David Kime, (Northern Kentucky U.) moved, Skylar Newman (Christian Brothers U.)
seconded - *approved*Stacey called for secretary to cast a single vote for Steven; elected by acclamation

Student VP candidates:
Nicholas Parham, Northwestern State
No nominations from the floor
Motion to close nominations - Greg Tomso (U. West Florida) moved; Patrick Bahls (UNC-Asheville) seconded - approved
Stacey called for secretary to cast a single vote for Nicholas; elected by acclamation

At large student rep candidates: Candidate introduced - Morgan (Mora) Rehm (EKU); Kelsey Morrison (CBU), Troy Shirley (UAB), all of whom were nominated before the conference. Jaden Adams of UTC nominated Caitlin Stanfield UTC from the floor. Motion to close nominations - Calvin Andries (EKU) moved, Emily Hoffler (Catawba Coll.) second - *approved*

Candidate statements - Mora Rehm, EKU Kelsey Morrisson, CBU Troy Shirley, UAB Caitlin Stanfield, UTC

Ballots were cast and collected

David acknowledged and thanked outgoing at-large student representatives Elizabeth Meade (Auburn-Montgomery), Vi Kinney (Northwestern State), and Monica Pasala (U. South Alabama)

Treasurer's report

David Coleman (EKU) reported that as of prior Monday, SRHC had 104 institutional members—up from 84 last year. The total had risen by 7 additional institutional members since Monday - up to 111. Current SRHC bank balance is \$43,281.90. \$20,000 is currently on loan to the Memphis conference organizing team. Part of this will be returned after Memphis meeting accounts are settled. Motion to approve - Tracie Burke (CBU) moved, Skylar Newman (CBU) seconded - *approved*

Scholarship Report

Past-President Patrick Bahls (UNCA) delivered the scholarship report. In the present 2018-2019 cycle, 10 Partners in the Parks (PITP) stipends of \$700 each have been awarded, and another 2 are "in- process."

Because of the financial uncertainty occasioned by the impending deficit faced by the 2019 Memphis meeting, the Executive Committee decided in its March 28 meeting to freeze the remaining three scholarships (of the total 15approved for the year at the Boston meetings last fall).

Secretary-Treasurrer David Coleman (EKU) formally recognized the PITP stipend recipients from this year and last year

Motion to approve - Greg Tomso (UWF), Rusty Rushton (UAB) - approved

2019 Memphis Conference Update

2019 Conference Organizers Paul Fitzgerald (Northern Virginia CC) & Kirstin Bartles (NSU) gave report.

2019 meeting included: 471 paid participants (around 500 total when sponsors, guests, and volunteers are included); 99 sessions; 366 student participants; 105 faculty & staff; 306 presentations; 124 posters; 58 institutions.

Because of lower than expected attendance, the 2019 meeting is expected to run a significant deficit for the organization—probably around \$15,000.

2020 Birmingham Conference Report

Rebecca Freeman (UAB) reported that SRHC 2020 will be in downtown Birmingham at the Sheraton Birmingham Thursday, March 19 - Saturday, March 22 2020.

Room block will open December 1 Abstract submission will be due January 15 Acceptances will be sent out January 20 Early registration will open February 10 Meeting will include a Graduate school fair

Announcements

On behalf of SRHC, Secretary Treasurer David Coleman (EKU) recognized SRHC Past-Past President Greg Tomso of UWF for the extraordinary wit, insight, and wisdom he has shown in his four years on the SRHC Executive Committee. Greg is rotates off the executive board at the end of this meeting.

Rusty Rushton (UAB): Provided an update on *Sanctuary:* Still accepting submissions until April 5

Thomas Wiegand (UTC)- provided an update on UreCA: Recognized editorial team, encouraged submissions

Kathleen King (Hillsborough CC)-provided an update on Partners in the Parks (PITP): Scholarships are still available through NCHC

Steve Engel (Georgia Southern)-provided an update on upcoming NCHC 2019 New Orleans. Theme will be "Disrupting Education" Linda Berry - keynote speaker Decisions next week and registration next week

Kirsten Bartels (NSU) announced name tag contest winners: Oldest - Rob Hubbard, 1997 Farthest Away - Elizabeth Leoni from Australia Most Colorful Recycled - Emily Coats Coolest Lanyard - Brooke Kelsey Most Creative - Jazmine Marie B. Best Use of Theme - Patrick Bahls Best Use of Memphis - Caitlin Shelby Most Artistic - Dansby Sparks

<u>Election Results</u> David Coleman (EKU) announced winners of At-Large Student Representative election: Mora Rehm, (EKU) Caitlin Sandefur (UTC) Troy Shirley (UAB)

Roll Call

President Eldridge oversaw a raucous roll call, which culminated in the proclamation (once again) of Tennessee as the victors.

Motion to adjourn - Tracie Burke (CBU) second - Grace Wells (Augusta University)

Adjourned - 1:30 pm